Fine Arts @ DGN Mission

North High School endeavors to provide an enriching, vibrant, multidisciplinary environment for the study, creation, and presentation of the Fine Arts.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

DGN Salutes 2015 Scholastic Art Award Honorees

The Fine Arts Department at Downers Grove North High School is proud to announce the results of the judging from the 2015 Scholastic Art Awards held at Downers Grove North High School and hosted by the Community High School District 99 Fine Arts Departments.  Student artists from 30 area schools submitted 2,836 works of art for adjudication. North High artists won 85 awards, including 24 Gold Key Awards, 30 Silver Key Awards, and 31 Honorable Mention Awards.

 “We are very excited to host the regional exhibition at North High,” said Brayer Teague, Fine Arts Department Chairman. “This show is always an amazing display of student creativity and a testament to the wonderful art teaching that is happening in District 99.”  According to Teague, the art teachers from both North and South High School play an important role in putting the exhibition together.  “Our District 99 art teachers are the engine behind this regional affiliate of the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards.  Their dedication and tireless commitment enables student artists from all over the suburban region to have their work evaluated by professional artists.”

Community High School District 99 will host the Scholastic Art Show Regional Exhibition from February 8-13, at the North High School campus Main Street Lobby (4436 Main Street, Downers Grove, IL 60515).  The public is cordially invited to attend the Exhibition Opening and Artists Reception on Sunday, February 8, from 1:00 – 4:00 pm.

Gold Key Awards
Anayexi Angeles (Ceramics & Glass)
Izabela  Christopher (Ceramics & Glass)
Isabella Cotterell (Ceramics & Glass)
Briana Gastaldello (Photography)
Andra Jankauskaite (Photography) – 2 Gold Keys
Tyler Kral (Photography)
Taylor Laughlin (Painting)
Stacy Mandujano (Ceramics & Glass)
Natalia Marra (Comic Art)
Jessica Novotny (Photography)
Lauren Phegley (Photography)
Lauren Porcelli (Jewelry)
Brooke Pryor (Digital Art)
Livija Rainyte (Painting / Digital Art) – 3 Gold Keys
Aubrey Saha (Drawing and Illustration)
Rachel Schubert (Ceramics & Glass) – 2 Gold Keys
Andie Sherman (Photography)
Karolina Silinyte (Photography)
Alyssa Spikes (Ceramics & Glass)
Emma Wilson (Drawing and Illustration)

Silver Key Awards
Max Baltrus (Ceramics & Glass)
Audrey Bican (Ceramics & Glass)
Evie Brindl (Digital Art)
Ashley Cockrill (Digital Art)
Emma Dionne (Drawing and Illustration) – 2 Silver Keys
Elizabeth Eboli (Ceramics & Glass)
Briana Gastaldello (Photography)
Claudia Hernandez (Mixed Media)
Katie Lauder (Digital Art)
Megan Masciopinto (Ceramics & Glass)
Chloe Mason (Photography)
Kayelee Newstrom (Drawing and Illustration)
Jessica Novotny (Photography)
Annie Panico (Photography)
Sarah Patrick (Photography) – 2 Silver Keys
Livija Rainyte (Ceramics & Glass / Painting) – 2 Silver Keys
Aubrey Saha (Drawing and Illustration)
Skye Schlottman (Digital Art)
Montana Serafin (Photography)
Bridget Shatkus (Ceramics & Glass)
Andie Sherman (Photography / Art Portfolio) – 2 Silver Keys
Justin Slyteris (Jewelry)
Alyssa Spikes (Ceramics & Glass)
Patrycja Suliba (Photography)
Kathryn Vaden (Jewelry)
Emma Wilson (Digital Art)
Honorable Mention Awards
Bree Arend (Photography)
Maeve Craven (Ceramics & Glass)
Olivia Di Lorio (Ceramics & Glass)
Hailey DiCristina (Ceramics & Glass)
Haley Ferrini (Digital Art)
Grace Furstenau (Photography)
Rose Halper (Jewelry)
Sarah Heinz (Photography)
Louie Ilagan (Ceramics & Glass)
Michael Marconi (Ceramics & Glass)
Margaret Michaels (Drawing and Illustration)
Amanda Micus (Photography) – 2 Honorable Mentions
Allison Padovani (Jewelry)
Sara Prochaska (Ceramics & Glass)
Livija Rainyte (Drawing & Illustration / Painting) – 5 Honorable Mentions
Stephanie Santamaria (Ceramics & Glass)
Nicole Sawdo  (Jewelry)
Tony Sherifi (Photography)
Andie Sherman (Photography) – 2 Honorable Mentions
Alyssa Spikes (Ceramics & Glass)
Kerigan Stadtler (Photography)
Audrey  Staron  (Drawing and Illustration)
Callie Thomas (Photography)
Amber Truby (Sculpture)
Emma Wilson (Digital Art)